NABC Library: Internet Resources

Assemblies of God

Assemblies of God Headquarters http://ag.org/top/

Enrichment Journal http://enrichmentjournal.ag.org/archive.cfm

Flower Pentecostal Heritage Center (Pentecostal history) http://www.ifphc.org

Dictionaries/Encyclopedias

Bible and Theology

All-in-One: Bible Versions and Translations http://www.markgoodacre.org/multibib/bible.htm

Baker’s Evangelical Dictionary of Biblical Theology on  StudyLight.org http://www.studylight.org/dic/bed

Bible Gateway http://www.biblegateway.com/

Bible Study Tools Online http://www.biblestudytools.com/

Blue Letter Bible (includes commentaries) http://www.blueletterbible.org/

Codex Sinaiticus http://www.bl.uk/onlinegallery/sacredtexts/codexsinai.html

International Standard Bible Encyclopedia on Bible History Online http://www.bible-history.com/isbe

International Standard Bible Encyclopedia on StudyLight.org http://www.studylight.org/enc/isb/

MyStudyBible.com (Holman Christian Standard Bible) http://beta.mystudybible.com/

English Language

American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language http://www.bartleby.com/

Merriam-Webster Online http://www.merriam-webster.com/

Compact Oxford English Dictionary http://oxforddictionaries.com/?view=uk&region=us

Merriam-Webster Visual Dictionary  http://visual.merriam-webster.com/

Online Graphical Dictionary http://www.visuwords.com/?word=succinct

General Knowledge

Encyclopaedia Britannica Academic Edition http://www.search.eb.com/ (requires login)

Medical Dictionaries/Encyclopedias

Medline Plus Health Information http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/

Evaluating Websites

Evaluate Web Page http://media.lib.ecu.edu/reference/howdoi/display.cfm?id=42&CFID=130781855&CFTOKEN=54892276&jsessionid=8230d758e3f041272622

Evaluating Website Content http://www.studygs.net/evaluate.htm

How to Evaluate a Web Page http://lib.colostate.edu/howto/evalweb2.html

Government Websites

ECU Government Information Web Directory http://www.ecu.edu/cs-lib/govdoc/govinfo.cfm

FirstGov.gov http://www.firstgov.gov/

NABC Library Links to Government Websites http://www.nativeamericanbiblecollege.org/government-resources

Internet Resources/Resource Collections

CBC Library Internet Resources Links (variety of excellent resources for Bible College students and faculty) http://www.cbcag.edu/page.aspx?pid=1019

Crosswalk.com (Christian Life) http://www.crosswalk.com/

Free Medical Journals http://www.freemedicaljournals.com/

High Wire (Stanford University – for researchers, librarians, publishers) http://highwire.stanford.edu/lists/

INFOMINE – UCR Libraries Scholarly Internet Resource Collections http://infomine.ucr.edu/

ipl2: Information You Can Trust (formerly Internet Public Library and Librarians’ Internet Index)http://www.ipl.org/

NC Live (free access to multiple databases, eBooks, audio books, videos, online magazines, newspapers, journals, etc.) http://www.nclive.org/ (requires login)

NetLibrary (eBooks) available through EBSCOhost at http://search.ebscohost.com (requires login)

Project Gutenberg (free eBooks) http://www.gutenberg.org/wiki/Main_Page

Public Library of Science http://www.plos.org/

Religion Online http://www.religion-online.org/

Wabash Center (for teaching and learning in theology and religion) http://www.wabashcenter.wabash.edu/home/default.aspx

WWW Virtual Library http://vlib.org/

MLA Citation Format

EasyBib http://content.easybib.com/students/citation-guide/mla/

KnightCite – MLA Citation Style – Calvin College, the Hekman Library http://www.calvin.edu/library/knightcite/

MLA Citation Style – Long Island University http://www2.liu.edu/cwis/cwp/library/workshop/citmla.htm

MLA Documentation – University of Wisconsin (Madison) Writing Center http://www.wisc.edu/writing/Handbook/DocMLA.html

MLA Formatting and Style Guide – The Owl at Purdue http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/747/01/

Son of Citation Machine http://citationmachine.net/index.php

Music

Sheet Music Collection – The Music Library, University of South Carolina http://sheetmusic.library.sc.edu/

Search Engines

Google Scholar http://scholar.google.com/

Search Engine Colossus (International Directory of Search Engines) http://www.searchenginecolossus.com/

Scirus (scientific research) http://www.scirus.com/

Serials (Journals, Magazines, Periodicals)

CPI Full Text Title List (Christian periodicals available online) http://cpi.intenex.net/cpifulltext.html

Directory for free online journals http://www.doaj.org/

Education Research Global Observatory http://www.ergobservatory.info/ejdirectory.html

Open J-Gate http://www.openj-gate.com/

Open Science Directory http://www.opensciencedirectory.net/

Study, Research Methods, and Writing Research Papers

Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) http://owl.english.purdue.edu/

Study Guides and Strategies (general help with studying and research) http://www.studygs.net/

The Writing Center (University of Wisconsin – Madison – help with writing research paper) http://writing.wisc.edu/Handbook/PlanResearchPaper.html

WorldCat

WorldCat (find items in the libraries nearest you) http://www.worldcat.org/